Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Coronavirus/Covid-19

Comments

• SATANSATAN Posts: 25,824 spicy boy
    It’s in the best interest of the pharmaceutical companies making the vaccines to have a side effect that requires lifelong maintenance so they can maximize profit.

Like “The vaccine works, but oops it gives you kidney problems. Good thing we have a pill for that, too!”
  • ThatGuyArloThatGuyArlo Posts: 1,430 jayfacer
    edited April 2021
    So I will say, I have been a bit wary about how the pharma companies are going to go about this moving forward. I disagree that there is going to be some kind of "built in" negative side effect that will keep people hooked on other drugs they produce, but, I wouldn't be surprised if they try to publicly downplay their own vaccines.  And I think we're starting to see that with the CEO of Pfizer coming out today saying that we will likely need boosters every 6-12 months. 

I'm no expert on this stuff, but I am addicted to Twitter now and follow a ton of different virologists, epidemiologists, doctors. There seems to be some general disagreement as to whether they collectively think that boosters will be required at all. I personally think there will eventually but I'm not going to get one if the only people supporting it are the corporate spokespeople. What is universally accepted however is that the vaccines work extremely well, and are safe. Some also believe that, based on the history of other coronaviruses, it may be possible that COVID only has a limited number of mutations that it can take, and may have already played its best hand. This isn't known though, and is mostly just experts speculating what they think might happen.